Public versus obligatory

I strongly support public education. I am opposed to obligatory education. I believe that a system (or systems) of education — schools, teachers, academic classes, performance art classes, art studios, mentors, tutors, project-based activities, book clubs, gymnasiums, swimming lessons, science labs, nature walks, environmental projects, cooking classes — should be paid for by all and freely available to all. But I believe nobody should be required to partake of it.

Similarly, I support public daycare. I am opposed to obligatory daycare. I believe happy, healthy, safe daycare should be paid for by all and freely available to all. But nobody should be required to use it.

Similarly, I support public radio, and I am opposed to obligatory radio. I believe public radio should be paid for by all and freely available to all. But nobody should be forced to listen to it.

I support public education, public daycare, and public radio. I oppose obligatory education, obligatory daycare, and obligatory radio.

About thedavenportblog

https://thedavenportblog.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Education, Freedom, Homeschool, Learning, Public school, School, Social welfare, Unschooling and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Public versus obligatory

  1. middlewaymom says:

    Interesting take on it! I was actually thinking the other day, wondering if it would be a positive change for homeschoolers to get large tax credits to encourage more people to stay home. It would free up the schools from larger class sizes, and free up some tax money back to the tax payers, if they choose to do so. Curious thoughts… :)

    • Interesting thoughts! Tax credits might be nice, but I wouldn’t want the oversight that would undoubtedly come with them. “Proof of learning,” school-like measurements (the very kind that I, for one, am trying to get away from) … would homeschoolers be required to give grades and follow an age-based curriculum that meets the “common core” standards in order to receive their tax credits? I wouldn’t want to open that can of worms!

  2. Pingback: Homeschoolers’ fight against common core is misguided | the davenport

Leave a Reply

